Volunteer

Barrington Greenway Initiative Volunteer Days

Dive deep into the wilds of Northwest Cook and Southwest Lake counties to restore the globally rare habitats of Barrington Greenway. Free and fun for all ages and experience levels!

January 2020 through December 2020

Select Saturday Volunteer Days at various locations in Northwest Cook County and Southwest Lake County.

9 AM to 12 PM, unless specified

Download 2020 Flyer 

For more information, contact: Daniel Suarez, Stewardship Program Manager, Audubon Great Lakes at daniel.suarez@audubon.org.

Barrington Greenway Initiative
2020 Explore & Restore Workday Series
Participating Organizations:
Audubon Great Lakes
Bobolink Foundation
Citizens for Conservation
Forest Preserves of Cook County
Friends of the Forest Preserves
Lake County Forest Preserves
McHenry County Conservation District

   

2020 Explore & Restore Series

MLK Day of Service: Brushcutting at Spring Creek
Monday, January 20, 9:30am-12pm
Penny Road Pond parking lot
Penny Road between Healy Rd. and Old Sutton Rd., Barrington, IL 60010

Brushcutting at CFC - Craftsbury Preserve
Saturday, February 8, 9am-12pm
459 IL-22, Barrington, IL 60010

Winter Hike + Tree and Shrub ID – Baker’s Lake Savanna*
Saturday, March 7, 12-2pm
749 S. Highland Ave., Barrington, IL 60010
*RSVP – reservation required.

Brushcutting at Grassy Lake
Saturday, March 14, 9:30am-12pm
Lake Barrington Village Hall
23860 N Old Barrington Rd, Barrington, IL 60010

Earth Day Sedge Planting at Spring Creek - Galloping Hill
Saturday, April 25, 9:30am-12pm
Penny Road Pond parking lot
Penny Road between Healy Rd. and Old Sutton Rd., Barrington, IL 60010

Spring Creek Sedge Planting – The 160*
Saturday, May 9, 9:30am-12pm
The 160 Pull-off, Rt. 72 between Trillium Blvd and Beverly Rd., Hoffman Estates, IL 60179
*RSVP – reservation required.

 Spring Ephemerals and Warblers Hike – Baker’s Lake Savanna*
Sunday, May 17, 8-10am
749 S. Highland Ave., Barrington, IL 60010
*RSVP – reservation required.

Prairie Ephemerals and Grassland Birds – Grigsby Prairie*
Saturday, June 6, 1-3pm
457 Oak Knoll Rd., Barrington, IL 60010
*RSVP – reservation required.

Sedge Planting at CFC – Craftsbury
Saturday, June 13, 9am-12pm
459 IL-22, Barrington, IL 60010

Creek Seining @ CFC – Flint Creek Savanna
Sunday, July 19, 9am-12pm
459 IL-22, Barrington, IL 60010

Butterfly and Pollinator Hike – Grisgby Prairie*
Saturday, August 8, 1-3pm
457 Oak Knoll Rd., Barrington, IL 60010
*RSVP – reservation required.

CFC Seed Collecting Workday
Saturday, September 12, 9am-12pm
459 IL-22, Barrington, IL 60010

CFC Seed Collecting Workday
Saturday, October 10, 9am-12pm
459 IL-22, Barrington, IL 60010

Fall Color Hike at CFC*
Saturday, October 17, 1-3pm
459 IL-22, Barrington, IL 60010
*RSVP – reservation required.

Seed Collecting and Distribution at Spring Creek – The 160
Saturday, November 21, 9:30am-12pm
459 IL-22, Barrington, IL 60010

End of Year Celebration at Craftsbury
Saturday, December 12, 9am-12pm
459 IL-22, Barrington, IL 60010

Download 2020 BGI Flyer: https://gl.audubon.org/sites/default/files/bgi2020.pdf

Ways You Can Help